ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule, Venues, Qualified Teams

Home » ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule, Venues, Qualified Teams

Everything that you need to know about ICC world cup 2023 - Schedule, Venues and qualified teams are discussed in this article

The ICC Men’s World Cup is a quadrennial international cricket tournament that brings together the world’s top cricketing nations to compete for the coveted title of world champion. The tournament is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the governing body of cricket, and has been held since 1975.

Teams from across the world participate in the tournament, with the number of teams and the format varying across different editions. In the most recent tournament held in 2019, ten teams competed in a round-robin format, with the top four teams progressing to the semi-finals.

The tournament is widely regarded as the pinnacle of international cricket and has produced many memorable moments in its history, including the famous tied final between Australia and the West Indies in 1999 and the stunning final of the 2019 edition, where England defeated New Zealand in a super over.

The tournament is a platform for players to showcase their skills and talent on the global stage, with many legendary cricketers having left their mark on the World Cup over the years. The likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Glenn McGrath, and Muttiah Muralitharan are just a few of the names that have etched their names in the annals of World Cup history.

The upcoming 2023 edition of the tournament promises to be another exciting chapter in the history of the World Cup, with some of the best teams in the world set to battle it out for the ultimate prize in cricket.


The International Cricket Council manages the Cricket World Cup, which is the biggest cricket tournament in the world. It is a fifty-over game and is played every four years.

India will host the 13th edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, scheduled to take place in October 2023. It will be the first time that India hosts a complete ICC World Cup event. The BCCI is preparing to make this World Cup a successful event in India.

Australia is the most successful team, having won the World Cup five times. The defending champions, England, who also won the T20 World Cup 2022, are the strongest contenders to win the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023. Host India has the advantage of playing matches on their home ground. This is not the first time India is hosting the ODI World Cup, as they have previously hosted the World Cup in 1987, 1996, and 2011. However, the World Cup 2023 is going to be held entirely in India.


Ten teams will compete against each other in the round-robin stage of this ICC event, with each win earning two points for the respective teams, and a no-result match resulting in one point for both teams. The round-robin stage will determine the four teams that will qualify for the semi-finals, with one team ultimately emerging as the winner.

Today, on this page, we will provide you with information about the ICC World Cup 2023, including the schedule, venues, qualified teams, and host, so keep on reading.


It is not yet certain when the first match of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 will take place, but organizers have confirmed that the tournament will begin in October 2023. The ICC World Cup 2023 will follow the same format as the tournaments held between 1992 and 2019, with ten teams competing and four progressing to the semi-finals, followed by a final match between two teams.

The Indian team and seven other top-ranked teams have already secured their places in the tournament. While the remaining two teams will qualify through the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League Match. India will host all matches of the World Cup 2023, and cricket grounds across the country have been booked to accommodate cricket fans.

ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 Details

ICC World Cup 2023 October 2023
Host India
Authorization International Cricket Council
Form ODI (One Day International)
Selection method Round-Robin and  Knockout
Opening Match To be determined
Semi Final 1 To be determined
Semi Final 2 To be determined
Final Match To be determined
Participating teams 10
Total Matches to be played 48


Thirteen stadiums in India will host the Cricket World Cup 2023. It is yet to be determined whether only few stadiums will qualify to host the matches, or if all of them will be eligible.

Stadium Name City
Wankhade Mumbai
Eden Gardens Kolkata
Narendra Modi Stadium Ahmedabad
M Chinnaswami Bangalore
MA Chidambaram Chennai
Sardar Patel Stadium Ahmedabad
PCS Stadium Mohali
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium Hyderabad
VCA Stadium Nagpur
MCA Stadium Pune
Green park Stadium Kanpur
SCA Stadium Rajkot
Gandhi Stadium Guwahati

Qualified Teams

The teams India, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, Pakistan, West Indies, and New Zealand have qualified and progressed to the 2023 World Cup. The remaining teams, namely Sri Lanka, Ireland, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and the Netherlands, will participate in the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier, from which two teams will advance to the 2023 World Cup.

The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup is shaping up to be an exciting tournament, with top teams from around the world set to battle it out for the ultimate prize. Cricket fans around the world can look forward to some thrilling cricket action in the coming months as the countdown to the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup begins.

Revisit us to keep yourself updated about latest Cricket news, and
gaming related information only here at 11ic

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Offers: Welcome Bonus, Deposit Bonus, Casino Bonus, Cashback Bonus, Slot Bonus
Stars Casino: Get $100 bonus cash + 200 bonus spins
Offers: Deposit Bonus and Welcome Bonus
Offers: Deposit Bonus and Welcome Bonus
Stars Casino: Get $100 bonus cash + 200 bonus spins